Torch Run


badge_artwork-color_100Law Enforcement Torch Run® – Overview


OUR MISSIONletr_mark_new_mexico_color_200
The Law Enforcement Torch Run® is a community-building organization that promotes and empowers New Mexico law enforcement agencies to raise awareness and funds year-round for Special Olympics New Mexico –while providing opportunities, encouragement, and hope to SONM athletes and families in the process.

LETR began in 1981 when Wichita, Kansas Police Chief Richard LaMunyon saw an urgent need to raise awareness and funds for Special Olympics. He conceived the idea of the Torch Run as a way to involve local law enforcement with their communities and Special Olympics, by running the torch in intra-state relays that converge at their local Summer Games.  The LETR was quickly endorsed by Special Olympics Inc (SOI) and the International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP), now recognized as the Founding Law Enforcement Organization. Today, celebrating its 32nd Anniversary in 2013, the Law Enforcement Torch Run® for Special Olympics is the movement’s largest grass-roots fundraiser and public awareness vehicle. The Torch Run raised over $46 million for Special Olympics Programs around the world in the 2012-2013 program year.

Our officer-led Torch Run Program for Special Olympics New Mexico offers LETR Agencies (i.e. law enforcement officers and their families) a fun and rewarding experience through five available fundraising and non-fundraising activities with and for local SONM athletes and their families.

Over 200 New Mexico law enforcement personnel from more than 30 Federal, Military, State, County and Local agencies participate in the Torch Run. Funds are raised through a variety of activities and fund raisers, with the highlight being the 1,600-mile statewide run culminating at the Special Olympics New Mexico Summer Games in Albuquerque in May. The New Mexico Law Enforcement is proudly presented by Wells Fargo.

The New Mexico Law Enforcement Torch Run is headed by a six-person Small Council, and governed by a larger Executive Committee, who together establishes, upholds, and/or ratifies and adopts governing operational guidelines and procedures, as well as administrative priorities relevant to the current and future needs of NMLETR’s Frontline. At our Frontline level, LETR is led by an State Director, Assistant State Director, Regional Coordinators, and Local Agency Coordinators. (Click HERE to view our organizational chart).2014executivecommitteegroupphoto600

2016 Executive Committee w/ Wells Fargo Rep. Ryan Garcia (l to r): Shawn Archuleta – Farmington PD, Jenny Dennis – Farmington PD, Doyle Syling – Alamogordo Public Schools, Athlete Ryan Hanson – SONM, Kelly Akeson – Gallup PD, Ana Ortiz – Santa Ana PD, Aaron Glymph – Las Cruces PD, Linda Montano – BLM Santa Fe, Charlie Gonzales – Otero County Sheriff’s Office, Michelle Ugalde – Dona Ana County Sheriff’s Dept., Randy Mascorella – SONM, Oscar Solis – LETR (NOT PICTURED: Mike Lopez – Las Vegas PD, Chris Marquez – APD Mounted Police, Scott Hardy – SONM)